share the dream
 

The talking Rocks of the Aborigines

Documentary

The rock art of the Australian Aborigines is the oldest evidence of human culture, however the unique cultural heritage of the Aboriginal people is in danger of being lost forever due to decomposition and algae infestation over the last 40,000 years.
Jürgen Steiner and Willie Brim
Jürgen Steiner, an Austrian stone restorer, has developed new procedures and techniques for preserving these significant art treasures which he has already applied successfully during two longer stays in Australia in 2008 and 2009.  It was the first time he managed to restore several ancient rock paintings in the northeast of Australia, which are several thousand years old and thus save them from further decay.

Through his successful work Jürgen Steiner has succeeded in winning the trust of members of different tribes as well as gaining access to hidden rock art sites and places of worship. The rock art is of enormous importance since the Aborigines have never developed a written language. The paintings are the most significant legacy of the natives. The rock paintings are responsible for the preservation of their identity and survival of their 80,000 year old culture.
 


Film
 
The documentary The talking Rocks of the Aborigines which is produced as a co-production and co-financed with the European culture channel 3sat will accompany Jürgen Steiner to the forgotten tribes of the Australian aborigines.  The documentary provides an insight into their mysterious world of spirituality and harmony with nature and creates awareness for the need of urgency to preserve and protect this endangered culture.
 


Share the dream

For the realization of Jürgen Steiner’s dream, more support and funding is planned for autumn 2012 when further restoration work will take place in Australia. The cinematic documentation of his work should serve to make the project known worldwide and to therefore guarantee his on going work over the coming years.Jürgen Steiner and Willie Brim

In order to finish the film project and to guarantee the continuation of the restoration project in autumn of 2012, we ask for your financial support!

With a Home page and crowd-funding platforms on the Internet we wish to attract volunteers to assist with a financial contribution for the project.
 


Financing Strategy
 
The production costs for the film and the picture book amount to EUR 113,000, of which EUR 65,000 (58%) will be financed by the co-production partners and sponsors 3sat. The remaining EUR 48,000 needs to be raised via donations from all over the world.
 
Even the smallest contribution helps! Based on the idea of crowd-funding, which is to say, financing of a project by many single prospective individuals, we hope that we can persuade enough people to support our project with a contribution!
 
And of course we want to thank you for the support too!

share the dream
 

Die sprechenden Felsen der Aborigines

Dokumentarfilm

Die Felsmalereien der australischen Ureinwohner zählen zu den ältesten Zeugnissen menschlicher Kultur. Doch das einzigartige kulturelle Erbe der Aborigines droht für immer verloren zu gehen. Vor allem Verwitterung und Algenbefall setzen den teilweise über 40.000 Jahre alten Malereien stark zu.
 Jürgen Steiner and Willie Brim
Der österreichische Steinrestaurator Jürgen Steiner hat neuartige Verfahren und Techniken zur Konservierung dieser bedeutenden Kunstschätze entwickelt und bereits erfolgreich angewandt. Während zweier längerer Aufenthalte in Australien in den Jahren 2008 und 2009 ist es ihm erstmals gelungen, jahrtausende alte Felsmalereien im Nordosten Australiens zu restaurieren und damit vor dem weiteren Verfall zu bewahren.
 
Durch seine erfolgreiche Arbeit ist es Jürgen Steiner gelungen, das Vertrauen von Angehörigen verschiedener Stämme zu gewinnen und auch Zugang zu verborgenen Felsmalereien und Kultstätten der Aborigines zu erhalten, die für die Bewahrung ihrer Identität und ihr Überleben als Volk von enormer Bedeutung sind. Denn für die australischen Ureinwohner, die keine Schrift entwickelt haben, sind die Felsmalereien das bedeutendste Vermächtnis ihrer 80.000 Jahre alten Kultur.
 
Steiners Traum ist es nun, sein Wissen an die Aborigines zur Erhaltung ihres unwiederbringlichen Kulturgutes weiter zu geben.
 


Film
 
Der Dokumentarfilm Die sprechenden Felsen der Aborigines, der als Koproduktion mit dem europäischen Kultursender 3sat hergestellt und von diesem mitfinanziert wird, begleitet Jürgen Steiner zu vergessenen Stämmen der australischen Ureinwohner, gibt Einblicke in ihre geheimnisvolle Welt aus Spiritualität und Naturverbundenheit und schafft Bewusstsein für die Dringlichkeit, diese bedrohte Kultur zu bewahren und zu schützen.
 
 
Share the dream
 
Den Produzenten ist es ein Anliegen, Jürgen Steiner bei der Verwirklichung seines Traumes zu unterstützen und die für Herbst 2012 geplanten weiteren Restaurierungsarbeiten in Australien zu finanzieren. Die filmische Dokumentation seiner Arbeit soll dazu beitragen, das Projekt weltweit bekannt zu machen und somit seine Fortführung auch in den kommenden Jahren sicherzustellen.
Jürgen Steiner and Willie Brim
Um die Finanzierung des Filmes und des Buchprojektes zu schließen und damit auch die Weiterführung des Restaurationsprojektes im Herbst 2012 sicherzustellen, bitten wir um Ihre Unterstützung!
 
Über diese Homepage und Crowd-Funding-Plattformen im Internet wollen wir Helfer gewinnen, die mit einem finanziellen Beitrag das Projekt unterstützen.
 


Financing Strategy
 
Die Produktionskosten für den Film betragen EUR 113.000,00, wovon rund 65.000,00 (58%) durch den Koproduktionspartner 3sat sowie Sponsoren eingebracht werden. Die verbleibenden EUR 48.000,00 sollen über Spender in aller Welt aufgebracht werden.
 
Auch ein kleiner Beitrag hilft! Ausgehend von der Idee des Crowd-Funding, also der Finanzierung eines Projektes durch viele einzelne Interessenten, hoffen wir, dass wir ausreichend viele Menschen davon überzeugen können, unser Projekt mit einem Beitrag zu unterstützen!
 
Und natürlich wollen wir uns für die Unterstützung auch bedanken! Auf der DONATE-Seite findest Du die verschiedenen Packages!